Repairing cracked marble results: nearly undetectable

Hi!  Today I had planned to begin the sofa reupholstering project, but I realised that I had better wait for the move after all.  It turns out that closing on the house is basically one week away, and I have a lot of moving preparations to make.  So, I did some errands and chores today, and I finally tried to repair the marble tray that I mentioned the other day.

The other day I had a little kitchen accident.  😦  You see, I love marble, and since I couldn’t have a fancy marble countertop I used a tray I found on sale at the local Restoration Hardware outlet as a way to include it in our kitchen.  I really liked the antique/rustic look of the tray and thought it made a great dry sink to place herbs, greens, and vegetables in after washing while in queue for chopping.  Then I fumbled and dropped a full bottle of olive oil.  It hit a corner of the tray as it fell, and the corner cracked right off in two pieces and some crumbs!  :sobs:

This isn’t the first time I had to deal with cracked marble.  When I was moving in with my husband the piece that tops our coffee table snapped in two.  I still haven’t found a suitable replacement a couple of years later and had found the table in my favourite Salvation Army thrift store.  It was quite the find being marked as sold at 150$ yet not picked up after weeks.  Their policy is to allow a day, so I asked about it.  They told me I could have it for 17$ (35, but it 50% off day) if I took it immediately.  Sold!  I planned to strip the base and do a particular finish, but it turned out to be plastic overlay not carved wood (surprise to me!)  So, I did a wash over it with plaster mixed with white paint and liked it very much.  When it cracked I was sad but thought I’d find something nicer.  Eventually hasn’t happened yet, and I wish I had done better than the hack-job glueing that seemed okay at the time.

Now I know better but still didn’t know exactly how to repair a crack.  I did some research and found that epoxy mixed with stone dust is the way to go, but I couldn’t find an exact product.  I’ve ended up with some sort of Loctite epoxy and a piece of marble tile to pulverise.  I’m not pleased with the fact that it is described as translucent yellow, but I hope it will not be too obvious, because it was the best I could find at Home Depot.  If I begin mixing and it looks terrible I’ll keep searching.

…So I crushed a bit of the marble tile.  It wasn’t too hard, and finding a surface to smash it on was the most difficult portion of the task.  Haha.  Then I left everything for a week since it looked passable held together with scotch tape.

held together with scotch tape

The repair actually wasn’t the bother I expected, and it took me only about ten minutes.  I laid out the supplies, read the instructions on the epoxy, and extruded some onto the foil.  I realised pretty quickly that I would need to cut the cotton off of the q-tip, because the fibres were sticking in the mix.  It wasn’t difficult to transfer the mix to the pieces, really.  Then I held it together while it set.  I did my best to line it up well.  Next I swabbed away any excess epoxy with rubbing alcohol.  After the mending layer held I mixed another batch of marble dust and epoxy to fill in the voids.  Applying this was easier than the first portion, and it filled in almost on its own.  I think it was a very successful repair!  Looking at the whole tray I’d bet no one would realise there had been a repair made to it.  Do you agree?

Supplies:

supplies

Mixing:

mixing crushed stone into epoxy

After:

after

Closeup:

side closeup

I hope this post helps other people as a cheap but very nice looking way to fix broken marble items they may have.  🙂

One thought on “Repairing cracked marble results: nearly undetectable

Leave a Reply

