Geoduck adventure

I’m afraid that I may not have much time for posting in the next few weeks (or more correctly that I’ll not be able to tackle certain projects that I wanted to write about.)  Today that means a food post, but I don’t think it is a boring one.  😉

Last March I noticed geoduck clams being sold at our local H-Mart.  There is a good chance that you have never seen a geoduck, and I hadn’t before either, except on TV.  I’m pretty sure the first time I heard of it was on an extreme foods sort of show, but it sounded very yummy.  I had to try this for myself.

The geoduck is a clam from the Pacific Northwest.  The part which is commonly eaten is the neck, which the clam uses to siphon water while safely deep in the mud, and the very long neck sure gives it a questionable appearance.  😀  Every resource that I found instructed one to peel the siphon, slice it very thinly, and consume it raw.  I’m adventurous, and I love raw food, so I was ready to give it a go and planned a ceviche.

This is the funky looking clam:

geoduck

Peeled and starting to slice:

sliced geoduck

It is very simple to peel once it is parboiled.  I read that the more the edges of the slices curl the fresher the geoduck, so I thought this looked pretty good.

For the salad base I just went with what sounded good to me that day.  It was a bed of spinach topped with avocado, slices of little sweet red peppers, red onion, jalapeño, and quartered cherry tomatoes.   Next I arranged the slices of geoduck, fresh coriander, squeezed one lemon’s juice, one lime’s, fresh black pepper, salt, and drizzled olive oil.  Doesn’t it sound delicious?

geoduck ceviche

geoduck ceviche closeup

Well, the verdict wasn’t so good actually.  I ate it all, but my husband declined after his first taste.  Perhaps the clam wasn’t fresh enough, I wonder, because it did have a sort of ammonia taste to it.  I’m sad that it didn’t work out, but I might try geoduck again someday if it is offered at a restaurant that I trust to have the most tasty presentations.

I was wondering what to make for supper tonight, and writing this post has me considering a re-make of the salad portion but topped with shrimp!

Leave a Reply

