a Dark Garden: Gardening Goth Style

My husband and I have a rather dark style.  He goes for black and maybe some dark reds or blues while I prefer muted colours and greys.  We both shy away from anything neon or tropical-bright although I can appreciate such colour outside of my own home or wardrobe.  (My mother and my sister-in-law on the other hand seek out pinks and bright colours.)  😀

When it comes to gardening it seems to me that the goal is to have a lot of colour.  I could be wrong since I am no gardener, but what comes to mind are swaths of bright sunny colour, punctuated by bold flashes, all along a deep green leafy backdrop ideally with interesting paleness or reddish hues or interesting textures.  Looking at seed offerings and the world around me it sure seems that the more shocking and unusual to nature a colour the better.  I’m sure that coaxing previously wild plants into ever more showy specimens of domesticity encourages this bold display, but it isn’t really my cup of tea.  I don’t want my own garden full of fuchsia, crazy pink, and the like.  That just isn’t our style.  😉  So, I have begun a dark garden.

Today I planted some bulbs, and I ordered a few more.  It may not be very warm yet, but I am inspired by the spring sun and am planning flower beds that will reflect our Adams Family tastes.  I’m excited to share my plans, so I’m going to link to places that may not actually be where I made my purchases but did have good photos of the plant varieties since my own photos would be of nothing but dirt.  I’ll start by showing two which I did not yet obtain but plan to in coming years: “black is black” iris and “paper moon” scabiosa.  The iris is simply gorgeous, and the dried scabiosa is something I included in my wedding bouquet, but both were unavailable to order when I was placing mine.

black is black paper moon scabiosa

Today I ordered “eyeliner” lilies and “hello darkness” irises (as well as saffron crocus for my cooking.  How awesome is that?!!)  I love the black outline on the pure white lily petals, and the black iris is simply perfect.

eyeliner lily hello darkness

Today I planted “black charm” lilies, “peruvian daffodils,” and “dangerous mood” irises (which I hope aren’t too bright in reality.)

black charm lilyperuvian daffodil

dangerous mood iris

To be sown/transplanted later are these dark and misty pretties: “mother of pearl” poppies, “black swan” poppies, the “original cupani” sweet pea, “delft blue” love in a mist, “donard” sea holly, both of these chocolate vine varieties, and “red giant” castor.

mother of pearl poppyblack swan poppy    original sweet peadelft blue love in a mistdonard sea hollychocolate vinered giant castor

Two more stunning selections to add, if they come into stock, are “queen of night” & “Maureen” tulips and “white Christmas” caladium.  Aren’t they lovely?

queen of night and maureen tulipswhite christmas caladium

I’m eyeing up “onyx odyssey” (and some dark red) hellebores too!

onyx odyssey hellebores

I never knew such interesting and dark plants were out there.  I hope my little gothic garden works out as nicely as I envision!

4 thoughts on “a Dark Garden: Gardening Goth Style

Leave a Reply

