Homemade Horseradish, Gardening Progress, and Wild Garlic

homemade horseradish

Last night I made some homemade horseradish to go with the ham that was in the oven.  We had the store-bought kind, but I wanted to try homemade hoping for more heat.  The other day I happened to see the roots in the produce aisle and brought one home not even remembering the ham, but it worked out perfectly that I had both.  It turns out that it is super easy to make the condiment, and it is a lot better than the store version.  All you need to do is peel the root, shred it, and put it in a jar with vinegar and a little sea salt.  Ta-da!

shredded horseradish

I have read that it becomes hotter with time, and it also supposedly will be more piquant if you don’t add the vinegar right away.  Don’t laugh at the big jar.  It was the only one I had on hand.  😀  I used a mandolin slicer with the finest shredding blade, but if I had a food processor it would be easier and more finely shredded.

The herbs that I transplanted are looking super happy and perky with the mild and rainy weather:

happy herbs

The forecast is looking perfect, so I am glad that I bet on no more frost.  As soon as my starter tray sprouts are big enough I’ll move more of them.  I think they are still too small?  I don’t know what I am doing.  😀

Yesterday I did till half of the garden and did some planting.  First I carefully dug up all of the garlic.  There was so much of it!  It filled my gardening bin, and I could only use a tiny fraction of it in replanting two rows.  It made me a little sad for the leftovers.

so much garlic

It was a lot of work removing ivy and stuff from the garden bed, breaking up the turf with a shovel, and raking it with the cultivator.  I only managed to do around half.  At least it will be easier next year and so on, right?

spaded after the cultivator

I did manage to keep going and plant the shallot, yellow, and red onions sets before the rain began, and I was nearly through with the garlic by then.

rows of onions and garlic

I am really concerned about the garlic.  My friend pulled some up when she visited last week, and she assured me that it was garlic.  She commented that it was planted/left whole, and I presumed that was why it was all so tiny.  Meanwhile there is wild allium all over the yard, and I’d thought this was more of the same.  She pointed out the garlic-y base, and I was convinced.  Then when I was replanting it, carefully separating nice specimens from the massive pile, and I really started to wonder.  The cloves were soooooo small, plenty of the same stuff was growing in the grass around the garden, and what if it is WILD garlic that I just spent a ton of time on gathering, separating, and painstakingly re-planting??  Googling showed a lot of information about ramps, annoyingly, because apparently the British like to call those “wild garlic,” but OregonState.edu showed something suspiciously like my garlic.  So… yeah.  I think I might have wasted my time instead of getting free garlic.  😦

If you know anything about garlic or wild garlic can you please comment with your opinion?  Pretty please?  I’d really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

