Lazy Post: pretty chippy paint

Today I did a lot but nothing that interesting for blogging.  It was very warm and sunny, so I finally put up a laundry line outside albeit a temporary set-up.  I’ve always air dried our sheets to preserve the linen but since moving have had to use the dryer for them.  Now, for the moment, I tied a line from the Japanese maple to a gutter bracket.  My husband will not be thrilled to see this.  What will please him is that I finally brought the screens down from the attic, washed them, and installed them.  He kept reminding me that we needed screens so that the bedroom windows could be opened and that it was too hot up there yesterday.  😉  Well, both the screens and the windows are clean now and fresh air has been breezing through all day.

There were other things that I needed to take care of online and on the phone, somebody came over on behalf of the moving company to photograph damaged furniture, and I changed a bunch of door knobs.  It was a pain to switch them out since every door required additional drilling and most frames some chiselling.  It took a while, and I put away the tools before noticing that I forgot to do one closet, but it is in the mess of a storage sewing room and doesn’t exactly matter yet.

Tomorrow my mother and grandparents will arrive for a visit and to help me do some repairs.  I’m not sure that I’ll be free to write while they are here, but I’ll make up for it after.  For now I figured I’d share some random things that I took photos of while shopping and thought interesting or wanted but couldn’t have.  :Le sigh:

detail of carved wall decor carved wall thing that I wanted

I think that this carving and the way it is painted/stained is absolutely gorgeous.  I’d almost give a kidney for it, haha.  Seriously though, I am still sad not to have it in my home, because it really “speaks” to me and the blue would match my nightstand.  😦  The crappy apart about my favourite shopping places (in this case Home Goods) is that such items are not available to just go back later the way they would be at someplace like Crate & Barrel.  I spotted this mirror another time at Home Goods which had already been claimed by someone:

mirror that I wanted

My husband wouldn’t have liked the green, but I think it is entirely perfect.  Apparently I really like chipped old layers of paint and worn things, because a couple of years ago I took these photos at a salvage yard in Albany:

chippy door salvage place chippy door at salvage place

radiator at salvage place shutter salvage place shutters at salvage place

Likewise I might have bought this Restoration Hardware coffee table if I had the money and place for it:

19th C Kerala coffee table

Anyway…  Here are linens drying on the temporary clothesline and some of the clean windows and screens:

temporary laundry line 

washed windows with screens

Leave a Reply

