Chimichurri, Grilled Skirt Steak, and Grilled Aubergines with Tahini and Yoghurt

Well, I didn’t get to post for a few days, which I expected.  My grandparents and mum left on Sunday, and yesterday I had a bunch of chores to complete, so here I am today.  I’m going to write about food again, because I want to ask permission to use some photos before writing about all of the fence repairs we did over the weekend.  😉

The weather has been completely gorgeous, so I’ve been grilling a lot.  I made chimichurri sauce last week and used the remainder last night.  It is a simple but tasty condiment, and it isn’t too difficult to make even if using a mortar and pestle as I had to.  One of these days I must get a food processor.  Chimichurri is just a bunch of parsley crushed with garlic, spicy oregano, black pepper, some red pepper flakes, salt, olive oil, and vinegar.  I didn’t have as much of the oregano as I’d have liked since my plant was still really small.  It is the most wonderful stuff with a real bite to it!

chimichurrin ingredients making chimichurri done smooshing chimichurri chimichurri

I also grilled some aubergines and served them topped with tahini and yoghurt.  It is ridiculously easy to make but very delicious.  Just quarter the aubergines lengthwise, score them, scatter salt, pepper, and hot paprika over them, drizzle with olive oil, and grill.

aubergines grilled aubergines chimichurri and aubergines grilling skirt steak aubergines and skirt steak skirt steak with chimichurri and salad

I’ll post another time about the grilled salmon Sunday night since this is already pretty full of photos.

Leave a Reply

