Happy Halloween! (18th century goth)

Once again I have neglected this blog.  Often I find it hard to write and actually complete projects.  Also, I lost the habit of writing this summer, but I plan to begin again.

Halloween is my favourite day of the year.  I’ve always wanted to dress up in strange costumes, so of course Halloween is the outlet for that.  (This year I happen to be turning 30 as well, but I always like to use my birthday as an excuse for Halloween extravagance.)  Sadly I did not make a new costume this year, but I am reusing a Borg Queen ensemble that I spent a lot of time on last year.  I never got any decent photos of it, so I have to today!  I’d have liked to add to it by making a more elaborate body for it, but it just wasn’t in the cards this time.  Hopefully it will still look pretty cool.

For now I will show another old costume.  I spent many hours making it.  Most of it was stitched by hand, and it was very involved with many layers before the visible ensemble.  The clothing of the 18th century really inspires me, so I decided to make a goth outfit in a fairly accurate style and method.

BW 18thC goth

Now for the layers:

Bum roll This is a bum roll, and it helps give the skirt back a nice shape.  I don’t seem to have photos of the pocket panniers which shape the hips.  They also make the best purses ever!  (I could fit an entire SLR camera and all my other stuff in them!)

pin strawberry I made a little linen and wool pincushion strawberry just for fun.  Clothing was often secured with straight pins back then, so I wanted a nice pin keeper.

shift, garters, and stockings back undergarments stays 

petticoat and pocket panniers front petticoat and panniers back

stomacher on

gown back cloak and mask

I added a cut leather mask from Etsy.  (I replaced the elastic with strings of heavy hematite beads that secure it by their weight over the ears.)

mask

Skyrim and 18th C goth

Leave a Reply

