Planning the 2016 Goth Garden

IMG_0098

Last season I had some success with the dark themed garden that I envisioned, but there was plenty of room for improvement.  Naturally I’d like to add to the number of things grown this year.  Also, I’ll be trying to keep in mind the timing of blooms, spacing and grouping of plants, and what I learnt about my green thumb last year.  I seem to do better with flowers than vegetables, so I’m mostly eliminating edible plants.  Perhaps I’ll keep the pretty dark purple tomatoes and black aubergines, and I’ll always have herbs, but the focus this year is on the purely pretty things.

I’m not even sure what to do with the old, huge garden bed in the corner of the yard except to let it lie fallow.  The two cedar squares near the house may become permanent flower beds.  Hmmm.  What I do know is that I already have or will hopefully be placing orders for some of these in the coming weeks:

Black cat petunias, Odessa callas, ghost athyrium, more mother of pearl poppies (which I also saved hundreds of seeds from,) black swan poppiesburgundy beauties cornflower mix, sophistica blackberry hybrid petunias, maybe more eyeliner lilies, black boy bachelor’s button, more delft blue nigella, giant red castor, yellow creeper canary nasturtium, blackout heucheria, obsidian heucheria, chocolate chip ajuga, star of billion astrantia, french kiss hellebore, and landini lily.

 

From last year:

 

 

There were things that I wanted to order but missed out on.  For example my beloved Alaska red shades nasturtiums were automatically eliminated from my cart having gone out of stock before I could order.  😦  A stunning, two tone deep red and black-red Olina lily that I considered was also already gone as was Big Blue sea holly.  Another out of stock beauty was Dark and Handsome hellebore.  There are also some that I found to be pretty but will not add.  The blue colour of the loddon royalist anchusa wasn’t as dark in other Googled images as on the ordering site, sadly, and the stems didn’t appear black as they said either, so I’ll pass.  The Helen Elizabeth poppy is so pretty, but it would mess up my scheme to have pink, wouldn’t it?  (Sooo pretty though… hmmm, maybe it could work out front where I am not doing the gothic thing?)  This columbine was tempting also.  If I was made of money I’d have liked Leonora widow’s tears and windflower too.

Today was my day off, and it was warm and sunny.  I did some yard work and found a surprising amount of blooming things for February in New York!

I never finished raking leaves this past fall, so I began again today and uncovered many shoots.  The house came with crocuses and snowdrops, which was a nice surprise.  They are joined in their early growth by the tulips that I planted last fall.

One of the tulips and a hellebore bud!

The hellebore is supposed to be blackish, but I’m not so sure…

I really hope that the weather remains mild and doesn’t harm the lovely display that I’m looking forward to!

Oh jeez, I found a few more:

Black magic elephant ear, black night hen and chicks, and black parrot tulip.

 

One thought on “Planning the 2016 Goth Garden

Leave a Reply

