First Tulips!

After the cold snap completely killed a few of my newest and most interesting plants I am glad that today I can write something positive regarding my garden.  It was a gloomy and rainy day until the sun came out and cheered things up for around two hours.  I’d begun some transplanting in the rain, and when I was done I napped in the hammock for a while.  I am so glad that the warm weather is now here to stay!  The extended forecast is perfectly spring-like.

I’m also very pleased that the deer never yet destroyed the tulips that I took a risk in planting.  Well, they did come over the fence and ate the ones that someone else had planted long ago, but they shied away from the house (unlike last year) or were thwarted by the string fence around the flowerbeds.  Great success!  😀

Knock on wood.

IMG_0031.jpg

As for the frost damage, the free Tibet plant is done for sure.

dead pinellia.jpg

I was even more sad today to find that the mottled angel wings were entirely gone too!  I hadn’t noticed or expected that, and it was one in particular that I really had wanted.  The other variety, sandy wings, is perfectly happy.  Strange things, plants.  Also, the underwood trillium lost one of the two leaves and looks unwell.  I was tempted to replace the three (well, hopefully add in the trillium case,) but I just can’t do it.  Perhaps next year?  I did find a site offering tomato plants beyond the sort big box stores sell, and the price was good enough, so tonight I purchased some heirloom and tasty varieties.  I’d entirely forgotten to source the seeds that I’d hoped to find and wouldn’t have time to start them even if I was decent at starting seeds.  I’ll post more about them later, but as an example I went for a couple of the Bulgarian tomatoes hoping they’ll be similar or as tasty as the Romanian variety I’d like to get.

These are the new ones that I planted today:

I have read that ajuga grows very fast and will be a nice ground cover.  I put it sort of staggered in the midst of the slate pathway.  I think the lighter and darker purples will be nice.  The sedum is dragon’s blood.  I also scattered seeds of it a while ago, but when I saw these at the store it seemed like a safer bet to start with too.

The first rococo tulip is starting to look less bizarre.  Some of the tulips are oddly short on the stem, I have found and don’t know why.  Meanwhile, I love the hellebore in the background.  I was hesitant to add it, but the blooms are so long lasting and pretty that I have the opposite of regrets.  😀

 

Tomorrow it will rain, but Wednesday is going to be sunny and gorgeous, and afterwards is looking nice too.  I’m sure I’ll be sharing as more tulips bloom!

Leave a Reply

