State of the Garden 25th April, 2016

 

Today I must remove the last of the leaf piles from the yard and mow the grass before it grows too tall for the reel mower.  Luckily the weather is perfect for it, being overcast and with a high in the low seventies, but I’d really rather use my day off to tackle painting or even a sewing project.  The regular chore list is long for the day, so I doubt that I will get around to any painting, but there is yet a chance of brushing on a section of trim paint in the kitchen this afternoon.  I’m getting impatient with the bare primer in there, and I’m increasingly driven to buy a few cans of colour for the master bedroom/stairwell/dressing room now that I chose a shade, but I know it will realistically be a long while before I could actually tackle it.  In the living/dining room the trim around the windows is only primed too, and I keep going back and forth on using the ‘coconut ice’ trim colour to highlight them or the dark grey that I opted for on some of the trim and the heat baseboards.  Right now the grey seems like a nicer idea, but…

Meanwhile, at least the garden is increasingly pretty and pleasant to relax in.  All of the tulip varieties have at least one bloom, and I’ve accumulated so many photos in the last week or two that I’ll have to break up my posts into a few categories.

IMG_0126.jpg

During the past few weeks I have continued transplanting and sowing seeds.  I happened upon trays of ajuga at Home Depot and brought some home.  I’m rather excited at the idea that the spaces between the slate pieces might be filled in by it.  Of course I was pleased to get the blackest sort, but I broke it up with a mottled lighter sort too.  Today I’ll place the last few under the hammock and in that area.  I’d already sown seeds for dragons blood sedum all around the pathways, but I am unsure how well they’ll fill in.  Besides the seeds I bought a pot of that and put a few clumps near the garden beds.

IMG_0066.jpg

There is some of the ajuga a week or two back.  I’ve read that it spreads very quickly, but I wonder how fast that is?  I’d like it very much to have a dark filled path area this season!  The ajuga is welcome to spread into the grass too, heh.

There was a weird grass at Home Depot that grows like a cork-screw and likes shade.  I put it under the hammock stand to help it blend into the garden better.  Something more much be done to hide the stand, but it is not simple since I want to be able to approach it, it is shaded, and there are maple roots all over to deal with.

IMG_0041.jpg

I also picked up three pots of purple sweet potato vine.  Last year I added one late in the season and liked it, so this year I snapped it up at first sight.  This time I placed one in each galvanised tub and one in the old whisky barrel in the rather sparsely gardened back corner.  Sweet potato vine trails so beautifully, and they’ll have time to grow nicely.  This year I hope to keep the corner from remaining an empty eyesore, but the squirrels or something keep fighting with me on the matter.  They rip out half or more of what I plant there, and I’ve had little luck with seeds either.

IMG_0098.jpg

The temporary fence has, knock on wood, done a great job of keeping the deer away from the hostas and tulips around the house.  They only ate a bit near the cedar face this spring and left things alone otherwise.  I’m eager to pull up the ugly posts and have them out of my way, but last night I saw that the deer had just nibbled the hostas in front of the retaining wall by the street.  Should I risk it?  I’m so impatient and it would help with mowing and removing leaves today, but…  Darned deer.

In the front of the house I’d put in some fall bulbs, and some have bloomed nicely:

More views of the garden:

 

 

Now I must try to finish all of my chores.

 

One thought on “State of the Garden 25th April, 2016

Leave a Reply

