Singer Single Thread Embroidery Attachment 26538

I did not finish this post on the 5th of July  Heh!  Anyway…

Today (I am not likely to finish writing this tonight, the 5th, but let’s pretend…) I received something very special in the mail: a vintage Singer embroidery attachment.

Some ten years ago or more, I saw a very expensive and very interesting attachment on eBay sometimes.  Whenever they popped up the bidding wars began between the Featherweight crowd, and over time the prices only became worse.  I’d been introduced to the ingenuity of the old treadle machines, and the attachments produced for them, and I was on the hunt for more, but I just couldn’t swing the big ticket embroidery attachments at hundreds of dollars (at least not unless I would forgo the actual machines, treadles, and more basic attachments.  Priorities and stuff.)  However, I put it on my to-acquire-eventually list.

Now I have one.  W00t!

Not only is it a nifty old embroidery attachment capable of adding beauty to my projects, but it is the rare “single thread attachment.”  They are hard to find outside of eBay, can be extremely expensive, and are tiny little marvels of creation.  It never fails to amaze me how cleverly designed old gadgets and machinery can be.  (Forget boring computerised and electric stuff!  The workings of perfectly designed gears and such are so darned lovely!)  :Swoon:

There isn’t too much information out there about the single thread attachment (or its more interesting-to-see-in-action sister, the two thread) aside from a few videos.  April 1930s is a great resource for vintage attachments, and almost everything I know about 26538 is from her site.  Across the web there are a few short reviews, videos, and mentions, but I haven’t found anyone posting their work produced with the attachment.  I hope to fill in that void and eventually share some finished projects.  For now I do have a tip that may be of use to someone, because I while I was quite lucky to receive a working 26358 from eBay today I… uh, promptly mucked it up.  Luckily I was able to sort things out, and I truly think/hope that the solution will help someone out there eventually.

A shot of the 26538 all set up on my Singer treadle 15-30:

26538 on 15-30

A view from the side:

side view attachment

Close-up while I tried it out for the very first time:

stitch

…and the very first sample:

stitch sample

Isn’t that stitch lovely?  I’m looking forward to using this to create pretty things!

Here is a silly video that I took showing how the attachment works and explaining how to adjust and fix it if you screw it up like I did.  I’m rather embarrassed by the video, but I was tired of trying to film, speak, and sew… and will have to live with sounding ridiculous.  😀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

