Done: Glazed & Painted Windows and a Painted End Table

Yesterday I was not feeling well at all and did almost nothing, but today is looking better.    I intend to paint a bunch of trim and doors today and see if I can .  Yesterday I planed the doors that were sticking in the summer humidity.  Such a little annoyance but it is already so nice to have it resolved!  After the painting I hope to have energy and time to do something else, like wash windows or something, and I’m not sure yet if I should go ahead with painting the dining and living room windows…  Doing so means having to scrap too, and the mess and effort of that is probably unwise given that I want the place to look good before the weekend.  They’ll probably be done another time since no one seems to care that they are only primed now.  I’d really like to sew another dress before the weekend also, but Thursday and Friday are spoken for, so today and tomorrow better be productive!

Since last week I completely finished the window glazing project that I wrote about.  Woot!  By the end I rather regretted taking on the front two windows besides the few in back, because it just pushed me over the edge physically, but now that it is all done I’m so pleased.  

When I wrote before I’d finished glazing just one window and planned on two more, but then I decided that the storm windows are just too ugly and that I should make and install separate screens for the summer… This meant taking out the one from the half bath and more scraping etc.  Since I was doing all of this I figured that I should complete the half-assed front windows too.  Everything snowballed, you see?  So, here are photos  from the other day during the process before glazing.  

Not so attractive metal storm window:

half bath storm.jpg

 

And the same window all scraped, glazed, and painted:

half bath painted.jpg

 

Windows in the back:

 

 

scraped for painting.jpg

back corner painted.jpg

all painted back.jpg

and in the front:

Here is a shot of the garden bed that shows how nice the windows look now that they are all done:

IMG_4595.jpg

The hot pink flowers were planted before we moved in.  I should relocate them, because the colour is jarring.  While I am at it, here is more of the garden as it looks lately:

IMG_4598.jpg

IMG_4587.jpg

This weekend, while L and I took a walk along some river, I spotted some wild vine with really awesome little black flowers.  Since black blossoms are so hard to find I was amazed and wanted some for home, because how perfect would that be for my garden theme?!  A friend was able to tell me what the plant is, vincetoxicum nigrum, and unfortunately it is an invasive species here.  (Considering how my honeysuckle keeps dying or barely grows although it is wildly rampant all over town, perhaps that isn’t so bad?  Only kidding!)

 

Another project crossed off the list is fixing up the marble topped end table that I recently bought at a thrift store.  The legs were rather damaged having chunks missing, but I’m pleased enough with it now and the $12.50 (half off) price.  It is quite similar to the coffee table I scored at another thrift store for about the same price years ago.  The coffee table slab is broken and we planned to replace it, but that will not be soon.  Now that I have this end table to match I’ll repair the crack and probably paint the base.  I did a whitewash kind of treatment on the coffee table, and I like it better, but it seemed better to paint the new table.

end table legs.jpg

It seems that I didn’t take the best photos of the damage, but big pieces had been broken off each leg.  So, I shaved down the legs and sanded the edges to make it less noticeable:

planing and sanding broken legs.jpg

ready to paint.jpg

I suppose that I could have stained it dark and whitewashed it to match the coffee table, and I wish I had, but painting was much faster and more forgiving.  I picked up a few chalk paints and ended up using mineral as a base then brushed some white over it and mixed them a little.  It looks okay, I guess.

Maybe I should have left it just with the grey:

But I began adding white to enhance the details and add more interest:

just beginning to add wite.jpg

Done:

And in place:

new end table with coffee table.jpg

 


I’ve highlighted this week’s tasks on the never-ending to-do list and made some more changes….

Front of house
-Patch broken front steps.
-Paint foundation a more pleasing shade.
-Buy new light fixture and install with sensor bulb.
-Last bit of patching.
-Last bit of painting.
-Wash exterior windows and skylights (uninstalling storms.  Make screens??)
-Finish glazing windows

Mini’s room
-Brush final trim coat on nursery panelling.
-Remove storm windows
-Disassemble, and replace screens.  (Update: make new screens to install for summer instead of storms.)
-Scrape and glaze: 
(One,) (two,) (three.)
-Paint exterior windows.
-Install screens.
-Remove old security crap from windows.
-Patch.
-Paint windows (interior.)                                                                                                                             -Scrape and vacuum.

-Install sash locks.

-Change light switch and cover plate.
-Buy and install shades.  Or make some.
-Have crib sandblasted and finished or do clear coat.
-Attach casters to crib.  Create replacement hardware.
-Attach casters to walker and assemble.
-Bring dresser from Dad’s and refinish.
-Sew Kirghiz felted carpet to a dowel for wall-hanging.
-Strip rocking chair.
-Sand rocking chair.
-Stain rocking chair.
-Reupholster rocking chair and sew pillows.
-Fix leaky sink valve.
-Set up furniture, wall art, and organise.

Main living areas and stuff
-Replace certain outlets, switches, and cover plates.
-Paint dining/living windows.
-Scrape messy paint.
-Finish painting kitchen trim and panelling
-Repaint living/dining ceiling.
-Apply sealant on entry and hearth tile/grout.
-Sew back of sofa.
-Staple cambric.
-Sew pillow covers.
-Finish sanding dining chairs.
-Stain and wax chairs.
-Paint and Mod Podge antique travel chest.
-Touch up kitchen chairs and hoosiers.
-Repair coffee table.
-Repair and sand end table.
-Paint table.                                                                                                                                     
-Paint main bath.
LATER:
-Reupholster recliner.
-Reaupholster little round chair.

Exterior                                                                                                                                   -Weed garden and path
-Stain east side of house.
-Stain or hire west side of house.
-Powerwash patios and chairs.
-and paint rusty table with hammered finish.
-Stain patios.
-Permanently attach umbrella to deck with bolts.
-Powerwash fence.
-Stain fence.

Unfinished part of basement
-Finish painting walls.
-Rewaterproof spot on floor.
-Touch up floor paint.

Organisation
-Organise storage area.
-Organise basement.
-Organise Garage.
-Organise attic.
-Organise kitchen.
-Organise sewing room.
-Organise baby items in closet.
-Organise master closet.

-Have yard sale.

Dressing room and spiral stairwell
-Touch up ceiling paint.
-Shift PAX and MALM to left.
-Patch.
-Brush edges.
-Roll walls.
-Paint trim.

Sewing room
-Remove sewing room door.
-Mark and chisel hinge mortises.
-Mark and drill door knob.  Install knob.
-Hang door.  Plane and sand to fit.
-Paint door.

Other kinds of non-house projects 
-Remake lamp shade for hanging lamp in Mini’s room.
-Remake a play mat and arches for hanging toys?
-Stain and make a busy board for Mini
Sew dresses for myself; light coat for myself and Mini; dresses, pants, and quilted coats for Mini; a small quilt; sew some soft toys; …
-Crochet or knit sweaters, hats, pants, and booties for Mini
-Make a mobile?

Pushed to later:

Master
-Caulk.
-Paint master ceiling.
-Touch up master bath vanity.
-Recoat walls.
-Poperly hang mirror.
-Install tub trim kit and drain.
-Install shower trim kit.
-New switches, outlets, and cover plates.

Storage room (now office)
-Remove stored items from storage/office.
-Rip out carpet and pad.
-Remove panelling.
-Patch and caulk.
-Prime.
-Brush paint.
-Roll walls.
-Paint sewer pipe with hammered finish.
-Paint ceiling.
-Change light fixtures.
-Change outlets and cover plates.
-Frame the two cinderblock walls
-Install foam insulation panels
-Drywall or panelling…
-Prime and paint newly insulated walls

Media room
-Get rid of giant speakers and console.
-Mount TV and sound bar.
-Rip out crappy laminate.
-Remove trim.
-Install DryCore.
-Lay insulating underlayment.
-Install vinyl planks.
-Reinstall trim.
-Paint touchups.  (I did re-paint a lot but need to finish since I ended up using a new gallon that doesn’t match perfectly.)
-Arrange furniture.
-Paint or replace stained ceiling tile.  (or ideally change to 2×2′)

 

Leave a Reply

